Question: What Are The 3 Main Parts Of The Cell Cycle?

Terms in this set (3)

  • Interphase. Longest part of cell cycle, cell grows and develops and function parts in our body. Almost at the end of interphase, DNA and chromosomes double.
  • Mitosis. Stage in cell cycle where, cell divides in to two nuclei.
  • Cytokinesis. The two daughter cells create as the cytoplasm divides.

What are the 3 parts of the cell cycle?

In cells with a nucleus, as in eukaryotes, the cell cycle is also divided into two main stages: interphase and the mitotic (M) phase (including mitosis and cytokinesis). During interphase, the cell grows, accumulating nutrients needed for mitosis, and undergoes DNA replication preparing it for cell division.

What are the main parts of the cell cycle?

The cell cycle is the life cycle of a cell, as it grows, replicates its chromosomes, separates its chromosomes and divides. The cell cycle is divided into two distinct parts: interphase and the mitotic phase or the M-phase.

What are the 3 parts of interphase?

There three stages in interphase occur in a particular order as part of the cell cycle; cells spend a majority of this cycle in interphase.

  1. The Purpose of Interphase. While prokaryotic cells, like bacteria, replicate through binary fission, eukaryotic cells divide through mitosis or meiosis.
  2. G1 Stage.
  3. S Phase.
  4. G2 Stage.

What happens in S phase?

S Phase: To produce two similar daughter cells, the complete DNA instructions in the cell must be duplicated. DNA replication occurs during this S (synthesis) phase. Gap 2 (G2): During the gap between DNA synthesis and mitosis, the cell will continue to grow and produce new proteins.